DeanRead.net

Peak District – Bivvy Wild Camp in the Dark Peak

In this video my friend Jay and I set out from Hope and head up the old Roman Road towards the forest surrounding Wooler Knoll. We had come to visit a spot that I’d camped at in my Wild Country Zephyros a few years ago but this time we had arrived armed with our bivvy bags.

I was testing out my new Alpkit Hunka XL and Jay was in his trusty Army Issue Goretex bag. I’ve been very happy with the Hunka so far and I’m looking forward to seeing how long it lasts in comparison to my 10 year old army bag. It is much lighter and the fabric is thinner so only time will tell if it keeps going as long.

For me, open fires are a massive ‘no no’ in the Peak District national park. Jay had his new Bush Box stove to test out so we used a piece of stone from a nearby wall to shield the ground and utilised twigs from a fallen pine to cook our food.

We really were lucky with the weather and we witnessed an amazing sunset. I was armed with 2 DSLRs and my iPhone so timelapsed as much as I could from different angles to add to the video. As the light faded we were treated to a perfectly clear star filled sky and I lay in my bivvy looking up at the view for hours. It was a truly memorable night, even though we got eaten alive by midges that resisted repellant and were small enough to infiltrate my head met. A mini adventure like this is was worth every moment of pain  🙂

Kinder Camp above the clouds – https://youtu.be/esO03DLOCIY
Kinder Camp in the snow – https://youtu.be/ABPIeLbRQ1A
Jay’s YouTube Channel – http://bit.ly/YouTubeGoonieBushcraft

Subscribe to my channel – http://bit.ly/YouTubeDeanRead

All music by Dean Read. Footage shot with a Canon EOS 7D DSLR with a Canon EF 50mm – f/1.4 USM Lens, Canon EF 17-40 mm f/4.0 L USM Lens, RODE VideoMic Go Microphone with a RODE Dead Cat Wind Protector. I also used my iPhone 6 Plus and it was edited in iMovie.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.